Grades (marks) encourage students to learn.

1/ grades are a double-edged sword, it can be an incentive or harm. we need to individualize education towards different types of students.

2/To some students, grades are just like missions in a game, they complete all the challenges and get the bounty. They'll regenerate quickly after stumbling over one fail. But to most of the students, especially in where of high population density. Grades are more like a whip but not an encouragement. Due to credentialism, millions of people compete for high grades to get into prestigious universities, and all they crave is mere a decent life guaranteed by academic degrees. In a highly stressful environment, people may become competitive or even snobbish. It's a common scene that parents in these areas, idolize the students with the highest grades and reckon them as a reference while reproaching their own kids. Some kids are even forbidden to have extracurricular interests like comics and games since they are considered useless to grades. Many people have no idea what to do after graduation, nor do dreams.

3/Real sustainable and efficient study is driven by interests and intrinsic motivation, not by competition. For instance, I love painting and I am devoted to it. When I start painting, all I can hear is the rustling of brush and lo-fi music from my headphone, all I can smell is the subtle scent of oil paint and turpentine oil. I am fully immersed in the imaginary world and leave all the competitions behind. My friend who loves math also has the same experience and they depict algebra and geometry as a beautiful poet which others may not understand. An American psychologist termed this mental state as Flow. It is characterized by high absorption in one thing that all other things and time become negligible. So does learning, people who in the flow zone are highly concentrated and fueled by their inner motivation and belief, not grades, just like me and my friend.

4/A voice rises that grades encourage students to learn and should be prioritized. However, Just like the ending of the movie: The Legend of 1900. The protagonist spends his whole life on a ship and feels overwhelmed and daunted by the world which is ever-changing, unpredictable, and has no absolute standard. Everyone will face the situation that there is no scoring system anymore after graduation, they need to notice that learning is a lifelong trek and personal stuff, and the only person we compare with is ourselves.