Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Grades (marks) encourage students to learn.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without sayng that in this modern and suffisticated world, going to school and learning a lot of materials is a great nessesity. Accordingly, people start going to school to learn different subjects from the time they are kids and schools use garading system to encourage students to study more and learn better. In this context, some people believe that these grades are not efficient and helpfull, however, some others subscribe to the idea that these gradings are encouraging students to learn better. I, fore one, concure with the latter argument. I hold this position for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To commence with, grading is making value for the progress of the students. To be more concrete, When a student gets 100 out of 100 grade in a course, they realize that had learned the course. On the other hand, when they get for instance 90 out of 100, it means there is need for more work on the subject. Consequently, this value can help students to try to learn more to get the highest mark in the class, which leads them to the highest value. My own experience is a compelling example of this. I was a medium student in middle school and had about average GPA in class. As a result, I had the feeling of not having the enough value as a student and decided to gain higher grades. I started studying hard and learning all the materials perfectly. As a subsequence, I got the highest grades of the class after and this continued to my high school graduation with the first rank GPA. This was a stimulation for me to study more and learn as much as I could to preserve my value and being in the first rank. Had I not been motivated by my low grades, I would have not been the first rank GPA in my high school.

Another key point to consider is that, grades creat a competition between students in a school. To put it in a more vivid picture, students start competing with each other for their grades and this competition is an additional motivation for learning. My own experience can drive this notion home. The time I was not studing much and had an average GPA, I was looking at my friends and feeling like I am falling behind by getting lower grades. This motivation to compete with them, was the encourage to start studying more, resulting in winning the competition.

In summary, considering all the foregoing arguments, I am firmly convinced that grades encourage students to learn. This is because not only do grades value the students' work and study, but also it creates competition between them.