Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Grades (marks) encourage students to learn.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

When it comes to how to motivate students to learn, some people may assert that grading students’ exams and homework can let students want to pursue more knowledge with the aim of garner higher marks. Nonetheless, in my perspective, grades may not encourage students to learn. Instead students may feel stressful and forget the purpose of learning.

To begin with, grades will let some students forgo learning because in the grade competition students will feel stressful. When their grade are transcend by their classmates maybe they will lose the motivation to improve. For example, in my third grade, my teachers and parents asked me to do plenty of math exercises with a view to get a high score in my final exam. However, this command also gave me the pressure because I was fear of failing in the exams. Finally, in that exam, I could not apply what I learn from the courses, as I was too nervous. However, my friend who was asked to just pass that subject got the high grade, since he do not have the pressures, which in turn may allow him to fulfill his potential in the exam.

In addition, students who place too many emphasis on the grade will lost the orientation about learning, since they will focus on the techniques about how to take the exams. On the flip side, provided that students place more stress on how to procure more knowledge from their teachers, they may secure more momentum to learn. For instance, in my seventh grade, my cram school’s teachers educated me a bunch of understanding about how to choose the correct answers even if I did not understand the mechanism of it. This made me always be the top three in the class. However, I did not fully comprehend the knowledge, which made me feel painful when I study the high school’s material, which make me want to give up learning. Besides, I also do not know why I need to learn and what is the meaning of the gorgeous grades. On the contrary, when I studied in the college, I understood why I need this knowledge and I do not pursue the high scores because I know that more significant thing is what treasures I obtain from the courses.

To sum up, pursuing high grades will let students feel stressful when they need to compare with others. Besides, they may also forget why they need to learn that knowledge. It is evident that putting too many emphasis on marks will not allow students want to learn more.