Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Grades (marks) encourage students to learn.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

What is beyond dispute is that the endless debate regarding whether grades have the motivation for students to study, in modern society, not only causes broad public concern but also provokes a hot topic among private individuals. Some cling to the perspective that marks do encourage this process. In theory, perhaps as objective and attractive as their claim seems, but in practice, what they state can by no means bear closer analysis. Consequently, without hesitation, I hold the view that the interest is as indispensable as a lighthouse, which directs the navigators in the vast sea.

Admittedly, grades in various fields-e.g., math, history, biology-plays a role in contemporary colleges. To some extent, they cultivate students’ ability to comprehend knowledge. But we cannot treat it as a priority in fact.

What appears as the first factor is that the pursuit of high-level grades can destroy undergraduates' stamina. To be more specific, when we strive to achieve a perfect score, students have to stay up at night to try their best to understand all the key points. This idea can be better and further supported by the example from one of my intimate classmates, Lihao. When he was a freshman, he was determined to fight for a greater postgraduate school. Hence, he gave up all his spare time and entertainment and decided to home in on his exams. A year later, however, his health situation was in danger due to this crazy study. Obviously, it may inform us that marks play a bad role in students emotionally and bodily.

Most importantly, doing our favorite things can contribute to greater creativity. Precisely, it is the pleasure of exploration that enables all students to progress in their fields. I can think of no better illustration for this viewpoint than the instance from me. I major in computer science that I generally find out I am fed up with it. On the contrary, when I chose to take business and management courses, I just cannot imagine how stimulating they really are, thus I proposed plenty of projects that my professor truly admired. Apparently, we can learn from the example that what we fell in love with is the best thing students can have.

Interest is to undergraduates as the market is to high-quality economic development. Basically, we cannot fail to regard the score as a commonplace that deserves little value and take what we actually like for granted. Just as Shakespeare has put it, "Strong reasons lead to strong actions."