Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is difficult for teachers to be both popular (liked by students) and effective in helping students in learning.

Give reasons and specific examples to support your answer.

Academic societies are getting more friendly these days, although teachers yet keep their strict disciplines. In my opinion, it is difficult for teachers to be popular and effective at the same time. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First, students' favorite teachers are usually the ones who are friendly and take easy exams. On the other hand, teachers need to be strict so they can motivate students in doing their homework and studying. Indeed, most of the students love the teachers who do not ask them for lots of homework, they, however, cannot stand the teachers who ask them to work hard during a semester. This makes it hard for a teacher to be popular among students yet, make them learn all they should. My own experience is a compelling example of this. I used to have a math teacher in high school, trying to be as friendly as possible, while asking students to do lots of homework and taking hard exams to persuade students to study as much as they can. Due to his class's hard-working demand, no one liked being in his class, however, he had a good sense of humor and he was friendly.

Second, if a teacher does not have strict discipline in class, students will not listen to him at the class. Students prefer to do games for example or talk to each other in classes instead of paying attention to their teacher. While a teacher forces students to be quiet and listen to the subjects, so they can learn the lessons properly, students will not like him and will not consider him as a popular teacher. For instance, my own experience is a geography teacher at my middle school, who used to force us to listen to the class and listen to him. After all, none of the students liked his classes. I wish students could behave properly so teachers could be more friendly rather than being too strict.

In conclusion, I believe that it is not easy for teachers to be both popular and effective in teaching. This is because students like teachers who do not ask for lots of homework and take easy exams, additionally, students are keen on teachers who do not force them to listen to the class quietly.