Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is often not a good thing for people to move to a new town or country because they lose their old friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Indubitably, a big number of people immigrate every year. Accordingly, some move to new towns or countries for different purposes. In this context, some people believe that it is better not to move to other places because of losing old friends. However, on the other hand, some people subscribe to the idea that there are some great benefits to immigration. I for one, concur with the latter argument. I hold this position based on a twofold rationale, which I shall expound upon in the ensuing discourse.

To commence with, with the developed technology in this modern world, communication is much easier all around the world. To be more concrete, video calls and the internet make it easy to see each other and feel close while people are in distanced cities. Moreover, it is important to consider that, it is not like in older times when people had to send letters only or have short expensive voice calls. Consequently, friends can send voice messages to each other or make video calls with high quality and at a very low price. My own personal experience serves as a highly compelling and noteworthy illustration of this. I moved from Tehran, Iran to Boston Massachusetts in the United States about three years ago. I expected to lose touch with some of my friends. Despite this, I could keep my contact with them and we see each other often through video calls.

Another key point to consider is that moving to a new town is a great opportunity to make new friends. To put it in a more vivid picture, Seeing new people is a subsequence of moving to a new place and it could lead to new friendships. Again, my personal experience serves as a compelling testament to support this assertion. When I moved to Boston, I rent a new apartment and started a new job. As a consequence, I had new neighbors and colleagues. As a case in point, after a couple of months, I had many new friends from different places. Had I not moved to Boston, I would have not had these new amazing friends.

In summary, after carefully considering all the aforementioned arguments, I am firmly convinced that moving to a new city or country is not a bad thing in the manner of losing old friends. It is because not only does technology help to be in touch easily, but also people can make new friends in a new place.