Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is difficult for teachers to be both popular (liked by students) and effective in helping students in learning.

Without a shadow of doubt, students, as the pillars of society in the future yet being in a sensitive and emotional age, require extra cares and guidances from others. It could therefore never be overemphasized the importance of the role teachers, who bear bear the obligation fostering students into virtuous and knowledgable people. Some people claim that it is difficult for teachers to be both popular and effective. However, in my point of view, a teacher must be popular so that he or she could be effective. I would delve into the reasons behind.

To commence with, from a psychological perspective, people would only listen to the instructions from whom they respect. To be more specific, the teacher could only teach when he or she is popular among student. If students have a wonderful teacher, they would be motivated to come to classes and make class discussion. There is not a better manifestation than my own mathematics teacher. He was charming and hilarious which made learning mathematics, a subject that many students fear of, become enjoyable. He created a good learning ambience in our class that students were willing to discuss and raise questions. It turned out that many students obtain a good grade in math that year.

On the other hand, critics often imagine a stern teacher, who ruthlessly reprimand the students, would be able to make students improve. However, this kind of teacher would only cause an adverse effect in learning. Students being pushed to learn would only deal with their homework perfunctory and do not learn from it. In more severe cases, student may even feel repugnance towards this learning that they forget every thing after the semester and do not pick it up anymore. Could we call this as effective way of learning?

Judging from all the evidence above, we could safely arrive at the conclusion that an effective teacher must be popular because only a popular teacher is able to create a good learning ambience for students to learn.