It is more important to read and watch news presented by people whose opinion is different from your own view than by people whose opinion are similar to yours

Because of the recent rapid development of internet, information become more accessible. However, it becomes an omnipresent that people could only receive opinions and views that are similar to their own. This phenomenon, named echo chamber, is the result of the advancement of algorithm. While some people may think it is good, I think it is of great importance to receive information of the opposite view.

To commence with, receiving information only from people who share the similar viewpoint with you would obscure the complete picture of the events from you. You could not understand what others' opinions are, and these would lead to wrong prediction. There is no better manifestation than the 2016 United States president election, when most of the organizations, ignoring the oppositions on social media and staying inside the echo chamber, predicted that Hilary would win. Because they do not receive enough information from their opponents, they make the wrong prediction.

Moreover, accepting the criticisms from others would allow you to improve. It is the human nature that we are blind to our shortcomings and weaknesses, and it is therefore difficult to correct them. Opinions from antagonists are precious because it allows us to realize our imperfections and thus rectify them. A famous emperor from Tang Dynasty said, ' Criticisms is a mirror that reflect the strength and weakness of oneself.' Without receiving information from critics, one could never make improvement.

In conclusion, information and news from opposite viewpoints are essential as they reveal you the complete picture and allow you to make improvement.