It is more important to read and watch news presented by people whose opinion is different from your own view than by people whose opinion are similar to yours.

At the turn of the new century, with the development of human’s modern society and galloping rate of science and technology, more and more people tend to keep abreast of daily events. Actually, there are unlimited ways to get aware of news such as the internet, radio, and television. Although some people adhere to this belief that it is better watching news presented by people with similar perspective, I would prefer being exposed to the news with distinctive viewpoints since it broadens knowledge and develops critical thinking skill.

The first aspect to point out is that what provokes people to be exposed news with a distinctive opinion is expanding their horizon. In fact, one of the rigors of modern hectic life is that people need to acquire a vast range of proper information to make rational and immediate decisions for having promising future, so without shadow of doubt they should listen or watch the news which is opposite to their perspective. Not only does distinctive news open a new window to people’s mind, but also it inspires them to assess the accuracy of their beliefs. Take a case of a person who has positive opinions about one of the president candidates and make the decision to vote him for instance. Actually, hearing negative opinions about his favorite candidate motivates him to gain more information about him from trustworthy sources and analyze them in order to make the best choice.

A further more subtle point is that improving critical thinking skills is another remarkable benefit of hearing news which is completely different with our perspectives. As a matter of fact, people’s attitudes toward lifestyle, societies’ rules and so forth are significantly different from person to person; therefore if they cannot listen to opposite beliefs patiently, they will run into a huge problem and have trouble in socializing with other people easily. To illustrate more, consider a person who cannot tolerate distinctive opinions. This person neither can convey his valuable information nor get persuaded by other people with different ideas. Hardly does he spend time and share ideas; so he little by little can fortify his critical thinking by being imposed opposite news. He allocates his time to a person with a different idea to elaborate his ideas and then think about them preciously. Finally, he feels satisfied with his behavior

On the whole, according to the above-mentioned points and details, it is crystal-clear (obvious) that a person can expand his knowledge and strengthen his critical thinking by being exposed opposite news and beliefs. It is high time we stopped overlooking the fact that a person who has stubborn personality can make progress in his life. In fact, how people who suffer lack of patience can expand their knowledge and fortify their critical thinking? Undoubtedly, answer of this question is being exposed news with distinctive perspective.