It is more important to read and watch news presented by people whose opinion is different from your own view than by people whose opinion are similar to yours

There are different opinions on whether people should follow the news presented by people with whom their viewpoints are aligned or those who possess different beliefs from them. Even though some people think watching or reading news presented by people with opposite views gives rise to anger and bad feelings, I believe otherwise, maintaining that the advantages of listening to people with different points of view outweigh its drawbacks. In what follows, I will delve into the most persuasive reasons to substantiate my perspective.

Without a doubt, the most consequential reason corroborating my stance on this subject is that people's political, religious, or social penchants are usually not quite objective. They have some bias toward their beliefs, most of which are irrational. These tenets and convictions might have roots in their family or the environment they have been raised. Watching news that is offered by people with a different perspective from what they have helps to think more objectively and see situations from a different perspective. Consequently, they have a chance to amend their views on some issues. Therefore, this reason manifests the importance of watching news rendered by people with different convictions.

Although the previous reason is the first one crossing the mind at first glance, another remarkable point deserving some words here is that listening to what people with dissimilar beliefs, even utterly conflicting views, say is most of the time so instructive and helps people to broaden their knowledge. In this way, people get the chance to pay attention to more details and become aware of other people's notions. For instance, in my country, there are two main political groups. The first group believes that religion should be implemented in politics, and religion and politics are not separable. On the other hand, the second group does not comply with this notion. Usually, they debate with each other, and some of their debates are broadcasted on TV. Personally, I agree with the second group, but most of the time, I listen more meticulously to the delegate of the first group. If overlooked the first group and its views, I would not have the knowledge I have today. Thus, this point illustrates the fact that listening to people holding conflicting views from ours is crucial and beneficial.

To make a long story short, many people are in favor of listening to news that is presented by those who hold the same viewpoint as they have. Nonetheless, the foregoing points lead us to conclude that listening to the opposite group is more important.