The following appeared in a newsletter published by the Appleton school district In a recent study more than 5 000 adolescents were asked how often they ate meals with their families Almost 30 percent of the teens said they ate at least seven meals per we

In the editorial from the newsletter published by Appleton school district, the author concludes that families should have as many meals together as possible since this action will greatly benefits youngsters and turns troubled teens away from delinquencies and bad behaviors. The author reaches this conclusion based on a recent survey indicating the more adolescents have meals with their families, the less they are prone to doing or showing bad behaviors or violations. Nonetheless, while the conclusion drawn by the author might hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. Therefore, the following two questions must be addressed.

First of all, all are the student in the survey are native or some of them are international or live by themselves in this area? It is possible that local students, who by the way live with their parents and have the most of their meals with their family on the weekly basis, lie about their usage of drugs or alcohol since they afraid that the interviewers will report their misbehaviors to their families. On the other hand, those students and youth living by themselves tell the truth about their amount of usage of these illegal drugs or beverages. Moreover, the depression or lower grades maybe more widespread among international students that are involve in household choirs and must tolerate the difficulties of living by themselves. These international students are not able to have meals with their families even if they want to. Therefore, the author must differentiate between international and local students. If either of these scenarios has merit, the author's assertion that those students live by their family are less susceptible to use of drugs, illegal drinks, or depression and mental issues is significantly hampered.

Secondly, what are other factors contributing to depression, low self-esteem, or low grades? Maybe those local students who grades are the lowest do not have meal with their families because of other factors, for instance family private issues or constantly struggles in their homes between parents. This means that lower frequency of having meals with family and mental, physical, or educational issues that these students have confronted are all the result of those factor. Therefore, the frequency of having meal with family cannot be a decisive factor. Other more important factors should be considered to determine the root of these students mental or physical unhealthiness. If it is true that less frequency of having meals with family and more use of drugs or prevalence of depression among these youngster are all the result of other more significant issues, the credibility of the writer's claim substantially decreases.

To recapitulate, it is possible that having meals with family have a direct correlation with the rate of delinquencies among adolescents or less omnipresence of depression among them. Nevertheless, as it stands now, the argument relies on several unanswered questions and groundless assumptions. Therefore, the author must provide answers to all these additional question two of which are mentioned above.