It is more important to read and watch news presented by people whose opinion is different from your own view than by people whose opinion are similar to yours

"Knowledge is power." With heavier competition tainting our lives this says cannot be more true. In this regard, it is important to read or watch articles and get to know what is happening around the world. It is my belief that getting information from people who have different views than I do is more beneficial. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, people can broaden their perspectives. In this competitive world, it is vital to differentiate oneself from others. People can open their eyes to new knowledge and cultures they have never experienced before by getting news from contrasting views. For example, one of my friends Katey enjoyed watching debate shows on her way to high school. As a result, she got into Seoul national university. This was possible because she was able to develop an unbiased view. The interviewers in her college liked her perspective and she was able to get passed. This shows that reading or watching controversial views is important in one's life.

On top of that, it can lead to a better world. To be specific, If the number of people with copious knowledge increases unfair treatments or policies can be changed. What I mean is that politicians will not be able to fool the citizens. For example, in the past, it was hard to get to know what is happening around the world because there was not enough internet. However, these days people can have access to the news anywhere and anytime. Moreover, they can see what other people think about the article through comments. This led to the improvement of citizenship. As a result, people procrastinate on unfair policies and discrimination. This clearly shows that getting to know different knowledge is vital.

At first glance, some people might think that a different view will just bring conflicts. However, based on the idea related to perspective and society, one can logically conclude that reading or watching news given from a different view is pivotal in our lives.