Some first-year college students do not have good study habits. Some people believe that colleges should provide all of the first-year students with a required course to develop their good study habits. Other people believe that providing this kind of course is unnecessary. What is your opinion and why?

It is beyond a shadow of a doubt that study habits have profound impacts on a person's learning efficent and outcome, which would ultimately influence his or her future career life. However, it is ubiquitous that some first year college students do not have a good study habit that affect their learning in the university. Some people therefore suggest to provide a required course that develop students' study habits. However, it is unnecessary and I would delve into the reasons behind it.

To commence with, from a pedagogy perspective, every student has his or her own unqiue study method, and deviate from the method would not only be an arduous proccess, but would also lower ones efficiency. To be more specific, some students may learn better through reading, others by listening, and still others by some hands-on experiences. If the course suggests, for instance, students to revise a course by reading the materials everyday, students who are not good at reading would find learning harder by following the advice.

On top of that, the effectiveness of this course is doubtful. It is unnecessary for a dilligent and assiduous student to attend the course as they already possess good study habits. Attending the course would only deprive the time they study or relax. On the other hand, Iifa student does not have good study habits, he or she may truant from the classes, or not being serious during the lecture. The student may not learn anything from the course.

Admittly, not having a good study habit is a severe problem that under no circumstances should we ignore and looking it with fold arms. However, the effectiveness of such course is dubious. An alternative solution is to arrange individual consultation sessions that require students with unsatisfactory grade to meet with social workers or senior students that provide personal advices to them. This allows students to discover study methods suited them, which ultimately allows them to develop good study habit.

Judging from the evidences above, we could safely arrive the conclusion that providing this course is unnecessary because the course is not effective and there are better alternatives for it.