A primary (elementary) school is considering increasing the amount of time it spends educating its young students about technology (for example, computers). To do so, it would decrease the amount of time it spends educating the students about music and art. Do you agree with the idea of young students (ages 5-11) spending less time in school learning about music and art in order to spend more time learning about technology? Why or why not?

With out a shadow of doubt, technology such as computer has drastically shape our life and become increasingly significant in the society. Without the basic knowledge of technology, one could find it difficult to adapt to the modern society. Therefore, some people suggest to educate students more about technology at an early age by reducing the time spent on teaching art and music. However, I do not agree this in consideration of the benefits of the children.

To commence with, from a pedagogy perspective, children's brain is still in developing stage at age five to eleven, and scientific investigation has revealed that music and arts could stimulate the development. Music could cultivate students memory, and learning how to play an instrument also train children's dexterity and body control. Art is also crucial for children because it nutures students' sense of space and geometry, inspires their creativity, and also nourish their aesthetic. It could never be overemphasized the importance of these skills. If we teach students technology instead of music and art, students would be deprived the opportunities of exposing to them and hence the opportunities of learning these skills.

Critics may argue that educating technology would benefit students too. This brings us to the second reason, that children at a young age could not handle tasks as complex as maneuvering a computer and even programing. As mention above, children's brain is still developing at this stage, and it is impossible for them to perform complicate tasks. It is therefore unfeasible to teach them technology at age of five. On the other hand, children at young age often possess a strong interest towards music and art. They would sing a song that they have heard and try to depict what they have seen. Therefore, considering the feasibility, it is better to educate children more and music and art but not the other way round.

Judging from the above evidences, we could safely arrive the conclusion that we should not teach students at an young age about technology by reducing the time they spent on art and music because this would hinder their brain development and this is unfeasible.