What is the most useful action for people to help environment in their local communities 1 plant trees and create parks 2 persuade local shops to stop providing plastic bags for consumers 3 increase access to public transportation such as buses and trains

It is universally acknowledged that good environment, which greatly contributes to people's physical and psychological, is of great importance to the local community. It is therefore crucial for people to take action to protect the environment, especially when considering the severe pollution problems nowadays. Among these three choices, planting trees and creating parks could not only bring various benefits, but is also the most feasible way. I would delve into the reasons behind in the following paragraph.

To commence with, trees absorb toxic air pollutants such as carbon dioxide, and this helps to increase air quality and alleviate pollution. Air pollution is a severe problem in most of the communities because of the increasing number of vehicles, generation of electricty, and incineration of waste materials. These human activities produce a large amount of toxic gas such as sulphur dioxide and carbon dioxide. The pollutants released into air could cause severe enviromental and health problems, such as acid rain and respiratory diseases. Planting more trees could help to absorb these pollutants and release oxygen, and this would help to improve the air quality and reduce pollution.

Moreover, planting trees and creating parks would increase the recreational areas for citizens to relax, which improves their mental health. Research reveals that exposing to green environment could help people to relax. However, it is an ominpresent problem that communities, especially the newly built one, do not have enough green area. There is no better manifestation than Tin Shui Wai, a newly built community in Hong Kong. When the government decided to solve the over-population problem in the central city, it planned to construct a new community, the Tin Shui Wai, and encouraged people to move there. However, the city planning failed to considered about green area in the new community, and the citizens complaint about it after moving there as they found that lacking green area would make them feel stressed.

Some critics may think that the other two methods would improve the environment to a larger extent. Admittedly, reducing plastic bags and reducing vehicles on the road would bring many benefits. However, these critics failed to consider the feasibility. Reducing plastic bags would decrease the plastic wastes. However, alternatives of plastic bags, such as paper bags, have a leven arger carbon footprint than plastic bags, which means that producing them would cause greater air pollution. A better approach is to reduce plastic wastes is to reuse the plastic bags, but not stop using them. Using more public transports would reduce the air pollution. However, it is difficult to promote the public transports simply because of the conveniency of private cars. Past historys show that the promotion of public transports in area that most people have their own cars often end up in failure.

Judging from the above evidences, we could safely draw the conclusion that planting trees and creating parks is the best way to improve environment as it brings multiple benefits and is the most feasible method.