Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

education is universally recognized as the essential part of human civilization. however, it is unusual for people to reach consensus on the specific education method that should be implemented. Recently, dispute about whether understanding concepts and idea is more important than learning fact has aroused. In my opinion, understanding concepts and idea is more important, and I would delve into the reasons.

To commence with, concepts and idea are more fundamental than the fact itself, which could often be derived from the underlying principles. learning the fact solely is often superficious. For instance, there are many rudimentary principles behind a scientific phenomenon, such as a chemicals reacting under certain circumstances. learning the concepts and idea allows students to understand why and how the reaction happened under these circumstances instead of remembering the fact that the reaction would happen if the criteria are meeted. The former is more fundamental and crucial than the latter.

Secondly, learning concepts and idea not only allows students to understand the fundamental principles behind a fact, but also makes them to draw inference about a similar case. Let's revisit the example of chemical reaction. there are numerous reactions similar to that specific type of reaction, which is infeasible for students to remember all of them. however, students are capable to derive the condition of other reactions if they understand the principles of them.

Despite emphasising the significance of learning concepts and idea, I am not saying that learning facts is not important. facts often serve as examples to demonstrate students the underlying principles. Without learning facts, students would easily get loss in the complicated and abstruse concepts. however, the ultimate purpose of education is to teach the concepts and idea, and teaching fact is only one of the means to achieve this.

To conclude, learning concepts and idea allows students to grasp the fundamental principles and gain the ability of drawing inference about a similar case. Giving the above benefits, we should never undersestimate the significance of learning concepts and idea.