What is the most useful action for people to help environment in their local communities?

1. plant trees and create parks

2. persuade local shops to stop providing plastic bags for consumers

3. increase access to public transportation (such as buses and trains), and reduce automobiles on roads

Nowadays, environment protection has become the top concern of modern citizens. However, people hold different opinions toward how to help environment in their local communities. Out of the three options, I believe to increase access to public transportation, such as buses and trains, and reduce automobiles on roads is the most useful action for people to help environment in their local communities based on the following consideration.

To begin with, increasing access to public transportation and reducing automobiles can relieve the harmful effect of greenhouse gas. The greenhouse gas, which comes from the waste gas emission, plays an important role in the global environmental problem. According to the research of Environmental Monitoring Department in Beijing, there are 72% of the greenhouse gas comes from the huge amount of automobiles on roads, which causes many disastrous consequences. And only a half of white-collar workers would like to go to work by subways or buses, the others prefer to go to work by driving their cars, despite of the heavy traffic in Beijing. That is to say, if we are able to reduce the greenhouse gas, even eliminate it, it is possible that the environmental problem will be solved to a great extent. In contrast, planting trees and creating parks would cost a lot of money which can be used to do something more meaningful, and the way of persuading local shops to stop providing plastic bags for consumers will be objected by the citizens who have enjoyed free plastic bags for a long time. Thus, I support that increasing access to public transportation and reducing automobiles can be more helpful to the environment.

Moreover, increasing access to public transportation and reducing automobiles contribute to less noise. The prevalence of automobiles has given rise to the noise pollution, which has already become a matter of our life or death. Therefore, less noise pollution is helpful to create a more peaceful environment. During the period of APEC, the traffic was regulated that many people went to public transportation instead of driving cars, and the statics showed the noise pollution had decreased a lot owing to less automobiles on roads. In other words, the environment quality can be improved efficaciously without the noise caused by cars. When it comes to planting trees and creating parks, it needs long time to wait until the trees grow to promote the environment quality. Also, persuading local shops to stop providing plastic bags can not have the immediate effect like increasing access to public transportation. Accordingly, this is the primary reason for me to advocate that increasing access to public transportation and reducing automobiles on roads.

Admittedly, it sounds plausible that planting more trees or stop providing plastic bags can be able to help environment. However, when we compare reducing automobiles on roads with planting trees or stop providing plastic bags, we should realize that planting more trees will cost a lot of money and stop providing plastic bags will cause people’s unsatisfactory. That is why I do believe that reducing automobile is the most useful action for people to help environment in their local communities.

To conclude, after this thorough analysis, I am confident to draw the conclusion that compared with planting more trees or stop providing plastic bags, it is better to increase access to public transportation (such as buses and trains), and reduce automobiles on roads.