Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Students do reading by their own personality is as important as or more important than reading assigned by teachers

It is universally acknowledged that reading, which cultivate one's knowledge and broaden one's horizon, is of great importance in education. However, there is no consensus on whether students should choose their own books to read or should teachers assign students to read. In my opinion, I think the reading that students do by their own personality is of greater importance, and I would elucidate this from a pedagogy perspective.

To commence with, allowing students to read on their own could invoke their interest towards a specific area, and they would thus continue exploring. Teachers' reading assignments are often confined to certain specific areas as they may not know all the other areas. For instance, a literature teacher may not know much about science and therefore could not suggest scientific books to students. Therefore, having a teacher to assign books to students may limit students' horizon. ​Instead, allowing students to read freely would help them to explore different categories and thus find their own interests.

Moreover, forcing students to read certain books may cause an adverse effect that they may eventually develop an abhorrence sense towards reading. From a psychological perspective, if one was compelled to do some thing, he or she would most likely develop hatred to it. For instance, one of my classmates in high school was interested in living creatures but not physics. To cultivate his interest in physics, the teacher assign him a lot of books about it. Although these books may be quite interesting from others' perspective, he found these books boring that he became more aversed to physics.

Judging from the above evidence, we could safely arrive the conclusion that students do reading by their own personality is of greater importance because it invokes students' interest. Assigning students to read, however, has an adverse effect on students.