Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?‎

Students do reading by their own personality is as important as, or more important than reading assigned by ‎teachers.‎

Nowadays, everybody is aware of the importance of teaching. No one asserts that education is not a very ‎important factor in this era. Two key factors that leads to a better learning are reading, and being able to ‎read journals, and newspapers. There has always been a controversy among different people whether it is ‎important that students read by their own personality or not.‎

The most remarkable demerit of the idea that students also read by their own personality is that they can ‎make mistake in reading different materials, and if no one corrects them, and helps them, they will go in a ‎wrong route which may have bad effect on them. Teachers usually give enough homework, and ‎assignments to students. This personal effort on reading can cause a massive job, and students are prone ‎to be under a lot of pressure which has many side effects.‎

On the other hand, the first and foremost privilege of the idea of self-reading is that it helps students to get ‎more familiar with different materials. This self-reading can improve student’s performance in the class. As ‎a result, he or she feels more confident in the class, and enjoys going to class. According to an experiment ‎which is done in Iran about this topic, twenty five percent of students who attend school do self-reading ‎besides their teacher’s assignments. Among these students, fifteen percent of them achieve a good grade ‎during their exams. More experiments show that these students who have self-reading besides their ‎teacher’s homework have better understanding of literature, and can improve their skills on different fields ‎like mathematic, chemistry, biology. ‎

In addition, another advantage of the aforementioned idea is that students which do self-reading have better ‎self-confidence in compare with their friends. This self-confidence among them leads to a better future ‎which is one of their parents’ desires. In the future, these kind of students can become a president, and ‎council members of the society. This self-confidence is one of the most important skills that students ‎should try to gain during childhood because many of their future works need this characteristic. This skill ‎helps you to do your jobs with more confident, and never think that you are going to lose in this way.‎

To put the issue into perspective, self-reading has many advantages like increasing self-confidence, ‎improving student’s performance in the class, and disadvantages like putting students under pressure ‎which may be harmful for them. In my point of view, the advantages of the idea of self-reading far ‎outweighs its aforementioned under privileges. So it is a reasonable idea for students to follow self-reading ‎besides of their teacher’s homework.‎