Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Students do reading by their own personality is as important as or more important than reading assigned by teachers

Education has always played an important role in individuals’ success, and studying different materails can make it accelerate. In this regard, some people believe that teachers should determine students’ assignments since they have more experience than others in this matter, while I have enough reasons to object to this viewpoint. I will enlarge on what I mean in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, nobody knows students’ weaknesses more and better than themselves, also teachers have several students and cannot allocate enough time to all of them in order to know what their problems are. To put it in a more vivid picture, everybody is more familiar with his/her problems in different aspects of life than are others, students and their educational problems are no exception. So, students can figure out which fields are more difficult for them to understand and can read a number of books in those fields to compensate their weaknesses. As a way of illustration, take my younger brother. Although he used to do reading assigned by his teacher, he always complained about uselessness of those homeworks since they were so easy for him that add no knowledge to him. As a result, he decided to start studying on his own, and he focused on subjects which were challenging for him. After six months, he became the most successful student in his high school.

Secondly, teachers cannot accompany students all the time, so students should find their own way of solving problems. To clarify this point, teachers can help students to improve their knowledge during the school time, but students only spend a little time in their schools. Consequently, if they want to be a practical person in their lives, they have to try to find distinctive solutions for dissimilar problems. Take students who study math at university, for example. Lecturers can be with students in university to guide them solve some of their problems; students, however, face with problems all the time, even after leaving universities. Therefore, they should have the abilities with which they can find many answers to their problems.

To sum up, all things considered, I strongly believe that students have to study on their own rather than reading materials selected by their teachers. That is due to the fact that, not only do students know their weaknesses better, but also they can find their own way of living. This will help them lead a successful life.