Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Playing computer games is a waste of time Children should not be allowed to play them

For hundreds of years, people have never stopped debating this fascinating question. Letting children play computer game is a very crucial and critical task of their life since this decision-making has a profound impact on their future. Regarding this issue, some people believe that parents should permit children to play computer games while some others disagree and claim that playing computer games is so detrimental for children. From my point of view, I think the second idea carries more weight. I will enlarge on what I mean in this essay.

Above all, although playing computer game can be considered as a good thing for spare time, it is more likely to result in a number of diseases. To put it into perspective, when children want to play it, they have to be immobile for a long period of time. Immobility will lead to obesity, which is the origin of many diseases such as heart attack and diabetes. Take my cousin, for example. He is a fifteen-year-old son who spends about seven hours a day on playing computer games, that is why he is about 110 kilograms and has diabetes.

The other reason which deserves some words here is that there are a lot of computer games which are inappropriate for children ages. To be more exact, children are in the early stages of their lives that is why some games are not suitable for them. For instance GTA is a popular game among children, which includes many violent scenes. Children love to play that game, though it has an age label which demonstrates that this game is not appropriate for children. As a result, children should not be allowed to play it.

Another subtle point that I should deem is the fact that playing computer game can lead to bad grades in children’s lessons. As parents should work too hard to make ends meet, they cannot be with children all the time. So, children will spend a considerable amount of time on computer games, if parents let them do it. My nephew is a compelling example of that. As he got good grades last year, his father bought a PS4 for him. But it has had a bad effect on his grades and he gets bad marks this year.

To sum up, given the fact that computer games have bad impact on children’s health and grades in school. In addition, it may include a lot of inappropriate scenes. As a result, I personally presume that parents should not let them play computer games.