Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It was easier to achieve success in the past than it is today

People have always sought success in different aspects of their lives. Regarding this issue, some people believe that achievement of success is simpler nowadays than it was in the old times, while some others disagree, claiming that it is more difficult to be a successful person these days than it was in the earlier times. Although it seems plausible at first glimpse that the first idea carries more weight, I would counter this point of view due to some reasons. I will enlarge on what I mean in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, nowadays there are more applicants for every career opportunity owing to boom of population than there were in the past. So, getting a well-paid job, which is a reliable means of success achieved, is more challenging these days than it was in the past. To be more exact, if people want to find a great profession, they have to compete with a number of contestants who try to get that occupation. In stark contrast, in the past, people could land a good job, if they applied for it since there were a few rivals who wanted to get that career. For instance, my brother is a civil engineer almost as good as my father. One of the biggest companies in our hometown recruited my father right upon his graduation from his University, while my brother has searched for a profession for four years, but he can find nothing because there are a lot of contestants for each work opportunity. As a result, being a successful person is tougher these days than it was in the past.

The other reason which deserves some words here lies in the fact that the unprecedented burgeoning of technology in recent decades makes meet with success, a hard work which not everybody can do it. To clarify this point, nowadays the development of technology makes people’s lives reach a level more advanced than ever before, that is why there are several factors that can determine the success. Consequently, nowadays people have to meet many requirements to gain a greater success than they had to in the past. Take my uncle, for illustration. He had a publication which was so thriving. He even published any ordinary book in illegible handwriting which sold out as soon as possible. Whereas, nowadays there are lots of publications which go bankrupt since people do not buy their books because of the lack of having a good font. Therefore, more and more new requirements make gain success too difficult.

To sum up, given the facts that there are more applicants for every job chance in respect of growing population and people have to satisfy more requirements than they had to in the past, I vehemently believe that success achievement was so simpler in the old days than it is these days.