Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Young people should try several different jobs before they take a long term career

It is universally acknowledged that choosing a job or future career, which drastically affect people's well-being, is one of the most important decisions people would make in their life. Therefore, some people suggest that adolescents who are facing this decision to attempt different jobs before making a long term decision. However, I disagree with this opinion, and I would delve into the reasons behind this standpoint.

To commence with, it is unfeasible for teenagers to attempt some of the jobs before acquiring the essential skills, especially careers that require a thorough understanding of knowledge. For instance, a scientist needs to spend a long period learning the basic knowledge before conducting a research. For adolescents who are interested in this career path, it is unfeasible for them to attempt to be a scientist in a short term when considering the skills they needed. While there are some careers that require less skills which teenager could experience them before making the decision, most of the teenagers' dream careers such as artists, writer, and engineer require some foundamental knowledge that could not be learnt in a short term. Therefore, it is unfeasible for teenagers to attempt a job for short period.

Secondly, a more feasible alternative, which is currently adopted by many of the schools, is to invite alumni of different field to share their career experience. By listening to their senior's experience, students could have a glimpse on different career life and obtain the essential information before making the decision. Some critics may claims that information gain by learning others' experience is not as much as by having hands-on experience, yet this opinion is specious. As mention above, teenagers do not have the essential skills to participate the core part of a job. For instance, teenagers could only be assistants or even spectators in a laboratory if they want to attempt to be a scientist. These experience give little information to teenagers as they could not even understand the investigation topic. Instead, having a scientist to reveal what research life is like to adolescents give more useful information as it does not require esoteric scientific knowledge. As a result, they could make a wiser decision on their career.

Judging from the above evidence, we could safely arrive the conclusion that attempting different jobs is not a good method to decide one's career in terms of feasibility and the existent of a better alternative.