Do you agree or disagree?

It is difficult for teachers to be both popular (liked by

students) and effective in helping students in learning.

Give your reasons and specific examples.

No one can overlook the fact that teachers can be popular among students while they are so effective in teaching lessons. However, it can be difficult for teachers in most cases and also it varies from one teacher to another. Were I asked to whether it is hard for teachers to be liked by students and be effective in teaching, I would rather say that it would be hard. Among conspicuous reasons, I will mention two of them in following paragraphs.

To commence with, students, like other people, want to spend time with their friends while talking, joking and laughing. Because at this age, the main society they are involved in is school, they want to spend fun time there. If teacher make jokes or laugh with students, he or she will be popular among students. However, it may cause that they misunderstand that class and lesson are not important. So it can lead to not make the class serious and the teacher cannot be effective in this class.

Another subtle point that I should deem is the fact that being successful at school and passing the exams are inquired with hard working and studying very well. In order to help students in learning, teachers should force students to study hard. Teacher and the way he or she reacts to students who do not do their homework or pass the exam is a key factor to put the pressure on students to study. In addition, giving hard questions to students make them think deeply about lesson and result in help students in learning. My personal experience is compelling evidence to elucidate this reason. When I was in high school, my physics teacher had a serious personality and no one in the class had dare to underestimate her lesson. Every students studied hard and we got good scores at the end the year. Although ten years have passed, I still remember phisycs she taught us.

To make the long story short, we may draw the conclusion that teachers should stick to their duty which is helping students in learning lessons. Being popular among students is not as determining as teaching them lessons and helping them be educated.