Some university professors let their students choose their research topics themselves Some do not Which one do you thinks is better Why

The answer to this question that if students have the right to choose their research topic or not can be varied from one person to another one. Were I asked to answer this question, I would say that I agree with professors who let their students choose their research topic themselves. In my opinion this is more beneficial for both professors and students. Among countless reasons, I have explained two reasons below.

To begin with, there is no doubt that education is one of the key factors for whom wants to reach high level of education and to receive upper degrees. Individuals who study at university have an educational aim for their lives. If they have been allowed to choose their research topic, they would choose what they are interested in either they are highly successful in. Consequently, they spend time eagerly carrying out the research which can be led to a successful, educational outcome. Last year, Jeff Bezos, who is a billionaire entrepreneur, lectured in a university in California State and suggested the students to follow their desires and what incentivizes them to do. He can be a shining example to shed the light on what was elaborated above.

The second reason why I am supporting this idea, lies in the fact that choosing the research topic by students can improve their responsibility. In this case, professors and students can share the responsibility of choosing research topic. Searching and fining new topics take time which can be shared among professor and students. As a result it can be an opportunity for professors to broaden their horizon and refresh their knowledge. My personal experience can be a vivid example to this opinion. When I was studying master degree at university, all my professor’s research fields had been already carried out. This lack of novelty in her research fields necessitated choosing a new field for my research which has also opened a window of opportunity for her next year students to study. Besides, this field has enriched my professor’s research fields which helped her promote.

To make a long story short, based on the aforementioned arguments, we may draw the conclusion that choosing research topic by students can have advantages for both professors and students.