Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The best way to improve the quality of education in a

country is to increase teachers’ salaries.

No one can overlook the fact that teachers are the key factor of education in a country, and they should be praised. However, improving the quality of education relies on other different things such as university level, students’ passion of learning, and method of teaching as well, and students can play an important role in quality of education too. Were I asked to answer whether increasing teacher’s salary is the best way to improve the quality of education, I would answer it is not the best way. Among countless reasons, which can vindicate my point of view, I will mention the two most conspicuous ones through the following paragraphs.

To commence with, one of the best way to enhance the quality of education is well-equipped laboratories. Students provided with equipment conduct their research more successfully, and therefore the quality of education will be improved. Statistics have shown that most of the articles with the highest quality have been published in developed countries especially in universities with high rank in world. Had they not had these equipment, they could not have published these articles. It is clear that high-ranked universities pay a lot of attention to do research and quality of education and spend a noticeable amount of money on that. So their laboratories are provided with all the best equipment they need. This is a vivid example that in order to reach to high quality of education, universities should be well-equipped.

Another subtle point that I should deem is the fact that quality of education highly depends on methods are employed for teaching. As education consists of two parts which are teaching and learning, improving the quality of education can be achieved by improving teaching methods which can help students’ learning. Recently I read an article in a major newspaper which pointed out that students should be persuaded to carry on research by teachers. In that article it had been explained that if the quality of methods of teaching is uplifted, more students will be encouraged to do research. Hence, the quality of education will be upgraded. One way to improve the quality of teaching is getting students involved in ongoing research as an assignment in the classes. The other way and what teachers do in Harvard University is combining theoretical and practical courses in which students can learn lessons better.

To make a long story short, based on the aforementioned arguments, we may draw the conclusion that increasing teacher’s salary is neither the only way nor the best way to boost education quality. Other factors such as students’ passion and interest, equipment and methods which are selected to use, can be as important as teachers’ salary.