Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The best way to improve the quality of education in a country is to increase teachers’ salaries.

Use reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is often argued that how countries can improve the quality of their education system. Personally, I believe that although increasing teachers’ salaries is an important way, there are some more crucial matters that countries should mainly focus on them instead. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, teachers are the last part of the educational chain. They transfer certain materials to students that are prepared by higher elements of the education system. If these materials are not chosen appropriately, teachers cannot educate the students properly, although, they are fully motivated to do their best. My personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. For instance, when I was studying in high school, there were several trivial courses that I had to study. Spending time on such absurd things was a significant negative point for my learning; however, my teachers were the best and it was not their fault. They had to teach us what they were asked. So, I think deciding to what materials would be included in courses is more important than teachers’ salaries.

In addition, teaching has changed over the time. It is not only about teachers, books and classrooms. Teachers should teach students using suitable equipment. They can not explain their ideas without convenient tools, no matter how much they want to put effort in teaching. For example, imagine a situation that a teacher wants to show an online video in the classroom; if there are not a stable internet connection or a good video projector, how he can do that? thus, in my opinion, if countries have decided to spend an amount of money on enhancing their education system, first, they should consider providing teaching facilities.

In conclusion, I believe that increasing teachers’ salaries is not the best option in order to improve education quality. Countries can pay attention to more momentous issues like educational contents and schools’ equipment.