Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Grades (marks) encourage students to learn.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There has often been a discussion about impacts of grading on students motivation for learning. Personally, I believe that marks can be a good impetus for students to learn. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, students will try to learn their lessons properly if they know that they will be evalluated by a mechanism. Students usually want to satisfy their parents and do not want to disapoint them. Therefore, they will do their best to achieve a good grade and impress their parents. My personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. When I was a student at high school, I always wanted to show my father that I am a responsible student. He used to check my marks and became aware of my status in the school. So in order to make him happy, I always tried to learn my courses in the best way and obtain acceptable marks. However, if I had not known that there was a grading system, I would ignore my lessons and learn nothing.

Another equally noteworthy point which supports this opinion is that by grading, diligent students will be seperated from lazy ones, as a result, students will be encouraged to study hard and gain good marks, so they can show their trencendence to other students. For example, when I was a student, I always wanted to be superior to a boy in my class. I always did my homeworks completely and studied my lessons carefully to obtain good grades and show him that I am better than him. Gaining higher grades were the only matter that I care.

In conclusion, I think that marks are beneficial for students learning, because they are the best way for evalluating students. In this way students can satisfy their parents and can compete with each other.