Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Parents can no longer control what their children do; their behavior gets more affected by

television, movies, and other influences from outside the home.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, bringing up a child is a challenging issue for parents due to existence of media, films, and other things which can affect children’s behaviors. I, however, believe that parents still can control their children’s acts and morality properly. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, parents can restrict their children access to certain media which they may find inappropriate for their children. Most of TV programs and movies are labeled with a sign which informs parents for what age group this program is suitable; according to this label, parents can decide whether their children should be allowed to see this program or not. My personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. When I was a kid, I used to play a lot of video games, there were several games in the market at the time, some of which had an explicit violent content. My parent always checked every game for its age limit, if the game was suitable for my age, they let me play it, otherwise, they did not.

Another equally noteworthy point supporting this opinion is that children mostly spend their time with the family and they are more likely to behave according to what their parent do. In fact, although they may be influenced by factors from outside the home, the major factors which form personality of a child is inside the home. If parents behave properly, their children behave in the same way, and media or other people cannot have a significant impact on them. For example, in my childhood, sometimes I heard some words from people that did not know their meaning, but I never used them because I had never heard them from my parent, and I knew that this words probably mean bad and I must not repeat them.

In conclusion, I believe that parents still have control over their children’s behavior because they can choose the content which is accessible for their children, and children are more likely to behave like their parent rather than other people.