Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Parents can no longer control what their children do; their behavior gets more affected by

television, movies, and other influences from outside the home.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, bringing up a child is a challenging issue for parents due to existence of media, films, and other factors which can affect children’s behaviors. I, however, believe that parents still can control their children’s behaviorism efficiently. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, parents can restrict their children’s access to certain media which they may find inappropriate for them. Most TV programs and movies are rated which informs parents for what age group this program is appropriate; according to this rating, parents can decide whether their children should be allowed to see this program or not. My personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. When I was a kid, I used to play a lot of video games; there were several games on the market at the time, some of which had violent contents. My parent always checked rating of every games I wanted to play; if the game was suitable for my age, they would let me play it, otherwise, they would not.

Another equally noteworthy point supporting this opinion is that children mostly spend their time with their family and they are more likely to behave similar to how their parent do. In fact, although they may be influenced by factors from outside the home, the major factors which form personality of a child are inside the home. If parents behave appropriately, their children behave in the same way, and media or other people cannot have a significant impact on them. For example, in my childhood, sometimes I heard some words from people that did not know their meaning, but I never used them because I had never heard them from my parent. In this way, my parent overcame the negative effects of other people on my upbringing by their right behavior.

In conclusion, I believe that parents still have control over their children’s behavior because they can choose the contents which are accessible for their children, and children are more likely to behave like their parent rather than other people.