Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People who have learned many different skills are more likely to succeed than those who focus on learning only one skill.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is often asked how people can be successful in their lives; should they learn multiple skills or focus on learning only one skill? Personally, I believe that people who have learnt different skills are more likely to achieve success. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, people with various abilities have a better chance to overcome economical crises. Sometimes, opportunities of one specific type of business gets limited and this situation can be a big problem for people who do not know anything else to do, but multi skilled people can change their career immediately and do not get into trouble. My personal experience is compelling illustration of this. In recent years economic crisis in my country ended in a significant decline in house marketing, as a result, one friend of mine, who had been working as an estate agent, was not able to earn any money in his job anymore, but he was a good salesperson as well. He left his job as an estate agent and started to work in a grocery store as a seller, so this crisis did not affect his life.

Secondly, a success is not achievable by applying only one skill and usually needed several skills together. People with different skills can combine their abilities in order to do a task more successfully. For example, a head of a construction company should be an engineer. Although he may be an experienced and good engineer, it is not enough, he must know how to conduct a group. Actually, being a good manager may play a more crucial role in success of his company than being a good engineer.

In conclusion, people with multiple abilities not only can be more successful in facing with economic problems, but also can do tasks in a better way by applying their different skills. So, in my opinion, having different skills greatly helps people to be more successful in their lives.