Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Which one of the following values is the most important to share with a young child (5-10 years old)?

1. being helpful

2. Being honest

3. Being well organized

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is often asked which one is the best virtue that should be shared with a child, honesty, being helpful or being well organized. Personally, I believe that although being helpful and well organized cannot be ignored, honesty is the most important matter that should be considered in educating a child. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, honest children can make friends easily and deal with the society in a better way. Trustful children are lovely and reliable, so other children are more likely to make friendship with them, and as we know, having friends has a significant effect in children’s life and helps them to become more social. For example, an honest child, who has several friends, can play with more children at school in comparison to a dishonest child, who probably does not have many friends. Playing with more children and spending time with them guarantees that the honest child learns about different kinds of personalities, and in the future, he/she can get along with people easily.

Additionally, honest children are less likely to do something wrong. They know that they cannot hide their fault and soon will face consequences of what they have done, as a result, they try not to do something which will be blamed for. My personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. My sister has taught his daughter that honesty is the most precious thing in life, so my niece has learnt that she must say the truth in any situation and telling lie about a fault, which she might have done, is worse than the fault itself. Consequently, she almost always avoids doing anything which she thinks is forbidden.

In conclusion, I believe that being honest is the most important virtue which should be included in educating children because honest children will have a better relation with the society and they will behave properly.