Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to make friends with intelligent people than with the people who have a good sense of humor.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Friends have a significant impact on our lives. It is often asked which is more important factor for making friends, intelligence or sense of humor? Personally, I prefer to make friendship with intelligent people rather than people who have a good sense of humor. I feel this way because of two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, intelligent people are more reliable and always make good decisions in difficult situations. We go through many hardships in our lives and it is ensuring when we know there is somebody who can help us in the most effective way. My personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. One year ago, I had a serious problem in my job and was not able to control the situation. When I explained the issue for my friend, who is one of the most intelligent people I know, he immediately came with a great solution which helped me to overcome my problem.

Secondly, smart people often have notable information in many fields which I can learn from them. They are usually successful in their career, personal life, business, and I can use their knowledge and experience in my life. For example, in the recent years, there is an economic crisis in my country, inflation is increasing and saving money and deal with the situation is a huge problem. I did not know any way to preserve my property, but one of my friends, who is a successful businessman, gave me some advice that using them, I could save myself from inflation impacts. In fact, I saved my life by his advice.

In conclusion, in my opinion, although, a good sense of humor is lovely, intelligence is a more important matter to consider when I want to make friends because of reliability and learning benefits that intelligent people can offer me as a friend.