Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to make friends with intelligent people than with the people who have a good sense of humor.

Choosing one's own community has always been a somewhat difficult challenge for people. Some may surround themselves with friends who can cheer them up when feeling down, and some may choose to be in an intellectual group to further expand their knowledge, and some may choose to go with the flow and not bother themselves with hand-picking their friends. I, However, consciously make an effort to lean toward the second category for the reason I explain below:

For the first reason, although the effects of having energetic and amusing companionship on one's mental health are not negligible, according to my experience, the benefits of having intelligent friends outweigh those of the former. For example, the extent of having humorous friends does not go beyond social gatherings, which might happen from time to time. And also, fun, humor, and amusement does not go beyond a certain scope. On the other hand, having an intelligent friend, who by the very nature of being intelligent, always evolves into a more intelligent person, guarantees a vast amount of experience and knowledge of another person at hand, which in turn affects one's own personal and mental life positively.

Another reason is that considering intelligence as a criterion for choosing one's friends may have some other externalities. For instance, having intelligent friends in the working environment might help with one's progress in their career. The path to success in one's career might be a difficult one to cross. However, having access to the people who may be experts in the field or merely having a different point of view might ease the journey to success. In addition, even in personal life, considering one's partner as a close friend who is intelligent has positive externalities. In my case, for example, my wife is my go-to person for the everyday issues that I'm facing. She is intelligent enough to give her a beneficial perspective on my social and financial issues. Although she also has a great sense of humor, her intelligence is what keeps our marriage together.

I enjoy having a humorous cohort of friends as much as the next person. They help you relieve your stresses and help in a more energetic and active life experience. I, however, put on a greater emphasis on the intelligence of a person, which would help me grow and prosper eventually.