Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to make friends with intelligent people than with the people who have a good sense of humor.

Friends undeniably play a prominent role in everybody's life. This is because people usually spend a great deal of their time with their friends - socializing, having fun, and consulting their problems, to name but a few. While some people are of the opinion that one should start a friendship with a person who can easily crack some jokes, I strongly believe that it is wise to establish a friendship with an astute person. I substantiate my belief by providing some supportive reasons that are elaborated hereunder.

First, life is full of ups and downs, and therefore one should prepare him- or herself to surmount the problem they face. People tend to ask their friends' opinions or advice to overcome the obstacles they encounter with. Although one might say humor is a great way to lighten up a tense situation, it should be noted that making fun of issues does not make them go away. A friend who is smart, however, can give a practical suggestion that helps us solve our problem. Consider a person who is struggling with a serious issue. Notwithstanding the fact that a funny friend might make him or her laugh for a few minutes, that friend cannot help them find the best solution to address their problem. A sharp friend, however, thanks to the brainpower he or she possesses, can recommend a creative idea or guide his or her friend and pave the way for them.

Second, astute people usually have a high status in society, which could be a motivation for their friends to catch up with their level and imitate them. Humans detest the feeling that they are left behind, and therefore, they try their best to achieve a decent social status. Those who have sharp friends are mainly inspired by their friends' achievements. Emulating their smart friend's viewpoints, they became smart themselves. However, usually only a few humorous people gain an equal social rank as those who are brilliant. Thus, nothing to compete with, one who has a funny friend finds no stimulation to work harder. This clearly illustrates that as a result of being motivated by a friend, friendly competition as well as emulation could act as a "force" that accelerates obtaining success.

In conclusion, without a shadow of a doubt, the merits of forging a friendship with a clever person are so invaluable that it leaves no room for any hesitation or consideration that whether or not one should choose them instead of those friends who make us laugh.