Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Family is undeniably a crucial part of human life as the first people around us consisted of them. A controversial argument that is often raised regarding this topic is whether the extended family is as important as it was in the past or not. If I were obliged to answer, I would think that we pay less attention than before to it for several reasons, on a few of which I will elaborate subsequently.

The first reason corroborating my view is that due to the chaotic life that we all have today, we do not have enough time to spend it with our extended family. In addition, in a busy lifestyle that we all suffer from, it is crystal clear that we would choose to spend our time with a friend whom we have more hobby in common and we can enjoy more as they are at my age and we have memories to share, socialize, and laugh. To illustrate, I have very limited leisure time as a manager of a pharmacy company. When I want to rest or have fun, I call my friends to go out for dinner or arrange a short trip to somewhere we think would be enjoyable. Therefore, I do not see my extended family as my parents saw their extended family and somehow it could be considered that they are less important.

The second rationale why I advocate this point of view lies in the fact that in the past families used to live in the same town. Furthermore, cities were not this big and all the population of one town knew each other as most of them were related by blood. However, today families are separated as they migrate to another town for several reasons like the job, weather, etc. My own experience is a compelling example of this. Originally I am from Mazandaran but my family moved to Tehran hence my father had to work here. It is not time-consuming for me to visit my grandparents or cousins. Furthermore, I have to spend a lot of money to get there. As you can see it is more convenient for me to see my friends instead.

To make a long story short, the extended family is not as important as it was before due to the fact that we do not have much in common with them as we have with our friends to share our time and energy. Additionally, families are separated from each other due to the migration or because cities become bigger and it takes a lot of effort to see them anytime we desire to.