TPO 13

Do you agree or disagree ?The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past?

In today's modern life, thanks to the technological breakthroughs in every section of science, the relationship between people has altered dramatically. Some people are of the opinion that nowadays, the priority of the youths' life is not their families anymore, while others believe that developing first years of life in the family, individuals tend to have a strong relationship with families. I personally, subscribe to the view that extended families are not as important as it was in the past; we are taught to be independent, having less contact with our families in the small scale, and the large scale our qualities and abilities are measured by our capabilities, nor do like the past age by families and relatives. In the following paragraphs, my reasons will be elaborated on in more detail.

To commence, it is undeniable that the way of our life moderated during the lase decades. In fact, after the 18 years old, or in other words, at the beginning of adulthood, people are encouraged to decide essential decisions such as future career, the city or country for living, and finding a partner, which needs meticulous attention. Especially, going to college and finding a job give us independence during the first years after becoming an adult. Enormous reasons address to keep distances between a person and its families ranging from busy routine life to make a new friend, which would be a replacement for traditional families. To delve more into it, many TV programs and series, based on the real way of life, demonstrate that young people come to big cities, where their dreams would become real. they find job, make new friends, and spend most of their time with them. Therefore, in my opinion, they chose a new family for themselves, while in another point of view, most of these series illustrate a point that either grandparents, cousins, and uncles are related to childhood or the time that ones lived with parents. it means, as a matter of fact, neither have children or families serious emotional feelings about each other.

another reason I believe the extended family is not as important as before is that societies are involved in the path of choosing a person based on their merits, not families. In contrast, in the past time, fathers and grandfathers played a crucial role in the future life of descendants. As a case in point, if a father had power and money, their children, specifically first son, would take power and money too, without any efforts or particular capability, they benefited from relatives. Indeed, the family was a strong institution during the past ages; the variety of events had been limited to kinship. For instance, marriage had taken place between two cousins, or for finding a job young people first sought between relatives then ask strangers. However, today's just as independence is identified as a worthy goal in life and become a desirable attitude for our generation, so do we attempt to foster our abilities for achieving success and welfare.

Drawing upon the reasons that I mentioned above, I enhance the fact that relationships between people in the extended families have changed. Not only is this practice less important than the past, but also the meaning of the family as a strong and powerful object has altered, hence increasing independence and meritocracy.