Many consumers ignore commercial advertisements. In response, advertising companies have started using a new tactic, called “buzzing.” The advertisers hire people,buzzers,who personally promote (buzz) products to people they know or meet. The key part is that the buzzers do not reveal that they are being paid to promote anything. They behave as though they were just spontaneously praising a product during normal conversation. Buzzing has generated a lot of controversy, and many critics would like to see it banned.

First, the critics complain that consumers should know whether a person praising a product is being paid to praise the product. Knowing this makes a big difference: we expect the truth from people who we believe do not have any motive for misleading us. But with buzzing what you hear is just paid advertising, which may well give a person incorrect information about the buzzed product.

Second, since buzzers pretend they are just private individuals, consumers listen to their endorsements less critically than they should. With advertisements in print or on TV, the consumer is on guard for questionable claims or empty descriptions such as “new and improved.” But when consumers do not know they are being lobbied, they may accept claims they would otherwise be suspicious of. This may suit the manufacturers, but it could really harm consumers.

And worst of all is the harmful effect that buzzing is likely to have on social relationships. Once we become aware that people we meet socially may be buzzers with a hidden agenda, we will become less trustful of people in general. So buzzing will result in the spread of mistrust and the expectation of dishonesty.

Listening

Hi, my name is Bill. Um, I was talking your professor in the subway about the great phone service that I was using. And it turned out we’re both interested in marketing. So he asked me to talk in his marketing classes. You see, I am a buzzer, part time, you know. During the day, I’m a student just like you. Now, I read that piece attacking buzzing, it is really misleading. How would it describe buzzing leading a lot, and gives a wrong impression?

First, it makes it sound like buzzers don’t tell the truth about the products they’re buzzing. That’s not true. How buzzing works this. Companies find people who use their products and who really think product is good. So buzzing is not like ordinary advertisement where an actress is paid to read some lies. Um, yes, I get paid for telling you what I am thinking, but you get the truth from buzzers. I really do think my phone service is great. That is why the company hired me.

Second, the reading makes it seem that when a buzzer talks to someone, the person believes whatever they hear from the buzzer. Not true. In fact, the opposite is true. People I talk to ask a lot of questions about the products I buzz, that is about the price, service and how long I used the product. If I don’t have good answers, they won’t buy the products.

Finally, if you believe what you read, buzzing will destroy civilization, that is stupid. If a product is bad, the company can’t recruit buzzers. So what you get from a buzzer is not only sincere but is likely to be about a good product. If you try the phone service I use, you’re gonna love it. So people who try buzzed products are going to have a good experience. So end up being more trustful and open up to people.

The reading passage and the lecture both discuss the kinds of strategy that is used for advertizment by a company, Buzzing. In the reading part, the author mentions that buzzering make variety of problems in the society; in the listening part, however, the speaker who is a buzzer challenges what thauthor states and rebutes the reasons.

To begin with, as mentioned in the article, the author sets forth that we expect true from people that speak with us and we should know whether a person is paid to give their opinion about the product or not. Nevertheless, in the listening part the speaker refutes the reasons asserting that the author probebly missleaded the point, a individual who is buzzering a good, he/she actually like the product and a company hire them based on this idea and they will tell us a truth and exact feeling about a product. There is no act on this like a actor who is paid to memorize lines and act for this. Therefor, you can trust to a buzzer.

Secondly, the author points out that we might accept a buzzer, if we do not know them about a labale for a decvice and it may harm a consumer by the claims. Nonetheless, the speaker flatly contradicts the idea and contends that consummers ask a variety of question and they have to answer them to persuad them to buy a thing, asd if they do not ansswer them complitly, they might reject them.

Finally, the author claims that it has negative effect on social interaction and relationship, because of the reducing trustworthy in society. In contrast, the lecturer is of the opinion that if a person love a product, for ecnstance, a cellfone device, they might advertize it and they speak based on experiment, hence they would be openly to the people.