Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Human beings are social kinds of creatures. Indisputably, the innate social trait of mankind compels him to form communities and live within them cooperating with their members. During history, family has always been one of the most important social units in human societies. The question might arise now is whether extended family members are as important as they were in the past or not. From my perspective, extended family members are not of the same significance for many people as they were fifty years ago. Followings are the reasons to support my standpoint: being busy with working, not paying the same attention to old cultural values, and not being satisfied in terms of solving their problems.

To begin with, there are sufficient reasons to believe that people nowadays pay less attention to their extended family members as they used to in the past because they have to allocate more of their times to work hard within their jobs. As a matter of fact, with the rapid pace of modernization, the needs of mankind are expanding growingly. Therefore, to meet these needs, people work within their jobs almost non-stop from dawn to dusk, and they find less time to spend with their extended family members. The best illustrated example for this point is evinced by many employees who work during the week and allocate their free-times not for visiting their grandparents but for resting.

Moreover, it might be of a great interest to note that contemporary people overlook their extended families as old cultural values have lost their values. Indeed, being replaced by many other alluring aspects of modern life, old cultural values have faded their values to many young people. Therefore, many youngsters give precedence to allocate more time to hang out with their friends with similar attitudes rather than spending it with their extended family members. The empirical epitome for this point involves the case that for many people spending time in music clubs is more appealing than spending it with their extended families.

Last but not least, grandparents, cousins, aunts and other extended family members are seemingly of less importance to many people in comparison to the past as people nowadays mainly base their relations on meeting their needs. In fact, not having the essential expertise, many extended family members are being neglected by their relatives as those members are not capable of solving their problems. Accordingly, the more somebody is skillful nowadays, the more he/she will be noticed and given value by other people as he/she will eventually play a crucial role in eliminating the hampering obstacles of his/her friends’ lives and careers. The best shown example for this point involves many students who adore their studious friends and not their grandparents to learn something from them to expand their knowledge.

In brief, human beings socially inclined to live in communities and build up relations with members of those communities. However, it seems that the importance of different human communities such as extended families has been varying from past to today. Regarding the above mentioned reasons and examples, I conclusively think that extended family members are not as important as they were in the past.