Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The relationships between family members have changed compared to the past. In my opinion, I agree with the statement that the extended family now, such as grandparents, aunts and uncles, is less important than it was in the earlier generations. I feel this way for many reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, thanks to the advancements in technology and transportation, people today are able to live farther away from each other than they did in the old days. Means of transit in the past were limited and costly. It took many hours, if not days, to travel from one city to the other. Hence, individuals lived in close proximity to each other, sometimes even in the same house. As a result, the extended family members had to interact with each other on a daily basis. Therefore, family connections were important between children and their grandparents and other distant relatives. Nowadays, on the other hand, commuting became faster, cheaper and more efficient, which enabled people to reside away from each other even though they belong to the same family.Furthermore, most people prefer privacy and want to have their own house or apartment. Consequently, some family members may settle away from their origins and their communication with other family members becomes less important.

Secondly, modern generations have more responsibilities and obligations than older generations and as a consequence, they have less free time than their parents or grandparents. This is mainly due to the fierce competition that leads people to immerse themselves in working or studying. School, career and other activities do not leave any time to engage in a conversation with our distant relatives. Besides, most people barely have time to take care of their immediate family. Although communication is much easier now through smartphones which are almost available to all the planet dwellers, time constraints makes it hard for people to reach out and call or contact their distant family members.

To conclude, I am of the view that nuclear family today is more important to most individuals than extended family. This is because people end up pursuing their own lives in different towns and cities and they are busier than they were in the past.