Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Children today would be happier with

fewer possessions.

I disagree with the opinion that children today would be happier with fewer possessions. I feel this way for many reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, the importance of possessions is different from child to child. SWome kids value possessions more than others. As a result, some youngsters will consider their belongings such as toys, smart phones, bicycles, clothes etc. very significant and essential to their well-being as it makes them happier. However, other children will find their joy in social recognition and just chilling with others. They are even more generous with their possessions and ready to give whatever they have to other people only for the sake of social accomplishment. My own experience is a compelling experience on this fact. When my niece was a young kid, she used to give away her toys and food to my nephew. She was not as attached to materialistic possessions as my nephew was. Nevertheless, she was more out-going and enjoyed talking to strangers and establishing new relationships. Definitely, she found her passion and happiness in something else other than possessions. On the other hand, my nephew was more reserved and more focused on his personal items. Thus, having fewer possessions meant less delight for my nephew but did not matter for my niece because they had totally unique personalities. Evidently, some children could suffer with fewer possessions while others will not really care.

Second, deprivation is mostly linked to misery and negative consequences. I remember when I was chatting with a friend and I said "need is suffering". My friend's reply was a bit surprise for me as she said "I'd rather satisfy the need than to suffer". Hence, children of well-off parents are not less happy than children of low-income families. In fact, it's the opposite in most of the cases. A child of an affluent caregiver could easily meet her or his basic needs and will have enough assets to be happy. In addition, if parents decided to deny their offspring's demands claiming that the lesser possessions, the happier the child will be, this will surely backfire on the family as the little kid will end up with subconscious resentment towards the "unfair" parents especially if they were capable but chose not to follow through. Generally speaking, a child with unsatisfied needs could definitely grow to behave inadequately in the community. Fewer belongings never contributes to a higher level of happiness.

In conclusion, possessions play a varying role in the life of different girls and boys, and the attachment to various types of things fluctuates from one personality to the other according to their nurture and nature. Moreover, deprived youngsters are more likely to be unhappy compared to cared-for kids. Lastly, enforcing a denial rule for necessary needs could have a massive unwanted impact on the child and the family