Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Family members always debate the effect of movies on the behaviour of their children. Some parents believe that movies and television could be detrimental to the future of the kids. They see films and programs of very little benefit and could be a waste of time and distraction at times. However, I contend that those kinds of television shows and visualized literature are extremely beneficial for juveniles and the gain is far superior to any harm. I feel this way for many potential reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, as less and less individuals nowadays read books or novels on a daily basis, movies have started to take the role of feeding imagination and offering an opportunity to look at things from many perspectives. Imagination and playfulness are one of the most important characteristics that people need to have to be able to innovate or discover something new. Honing these skills by letting youngsters watch movies and videos will definitely help them succeed in their future career. My nephew is a compelling example of what I mean. Watching so many Disney movies when he was young helped develop his problem-solving abilities. I came to realize how movies affected his skills when I was unboxing a new device and he was watching me confused about where should every part goes to reach the final configuration. I was surprised when he was able to figure out how to assemble this new set. As a result, I became convinced that movies had an undeniable positive effect on broadening my nephew's imaginative capacity.

Secondly, movies play a tremendous role in the shaping of the moral codes in children's minds. most movies that deal with an ethical or moral issue has an ending where the good win. Consequently, this encourages the young to always do the right thing. Although some of these films have violent scenes, they often promote the idea that being ethical is good for the individual and the society as a whole. To give an example, In superhero movies, the main character is fighting for justice and other highly appreciated human values. When children watch these movies, they will have a chance to look up to even these imaginary characters which, in turn, will consolidate these values in them.

In summation, I oppose the claim that movies and television could have a negative impact on our kids. Instead, I believe that the gains of watching movies greatly outweigh any risks. These benefits could be educational such as skills and knowledge as well as ethical such as moral values.