Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave

With movies and television soaring in popularity in recent years, they have gradually become part of the life of the new generation. Children’s behavior and values seem to be significantly influenced. On that account, increasing attention is being paid concerning whether the effects are positive or negative on the whole. Admittedly, some TV programs can be educational and beneficial to children. It is more often the case, however, that movies and television may well lead to malign effects.

It is self-evident that most young people initially choose movies and TV shows as a means of entertainment, but some of them may inadvertently fall victim to such addiction. Modern recreational programs are often designed in a way to attract and retain viewers to the greatest extent. For example, episodes in most TV series nowadays tend to end with the opening of another story line, which aims to keep the audience in suspense. A large number of viewers are so desperate for the plot afterwards that they cannot wait to continue watching the next one, which eventually results in days of non-stop watching. Young people, in this regard, are even more prone to addiction. Without clear plans for the future, they are less likely to be self-disciplined enough to get rid of such movies and TV programs, which may well pose a terrible problem for their personal growth.

In addition, unfiltered movies and television shows are likely to have adverse effects on children’s mental health. Without established values and abilities to tell right from wrong, young people will be hugely susceptible to negative things in TV programs involving violence or even crimes, if they manage to have access to assortments of movies and television shows. Take a friend of mine as an example. When I met him for the first time at junior high school, he was as hardworking as any other student in class. During years at school, however, he got access to inappropriate content on the Internet, which marked the beginning of his depravation. Multitudinous TV series involving violence and other negative elements made him an irritable and cynical person in the end. It can be clearly seen that such movies can easily lead to terrible consequences, even ruining a teenager’s life.

To sum up, although movies and TV series can provide much-needed relaxation and be educational in some occasions, the cons of them always outweigh the pros due to potential problems of addiction and harmful elements. These negative impacts call for close supervision from parents or mentors on children’s access to such materials.