Workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Workers from all walks of life have to deal with massive loads of work every day. Some managers prefer to assign similar tasks to a single worker, in that working on the same project may turn out to be more efficient and productive. From my perspective, however, it is bound to bring about dissatisfaction among workers if they have to do the same job day after day.

As is known to all, similar tasks tend to give rise to boredom, which can be the trigger for efficiency decline and discontent among employees. For example, if I were assigned similar problem sets every week, I would soon get bored of doing the homework and eventually hand in solutions of much lower quality. In reality, however, the teacher often assigns to me problem sets on different topics, which I have to learn various things to work out. It goes without saying that, unlike monotonous work, various tasks can arouse people's interest for sure and keep them inspired and engaged in acquiring new skills and knowledge. It is the variety of tasks that can be a wonderful driving force for workers to keep focused on handling multitudinous assignments and improving themselves.

More importantly, dealing with different types of tasks can be a perfect chance for workers to demonstrate their competence and find the field they are truly good at. Some employees may find it hard to handle some particular work even if they keep doing it again and again, but they may excel in another field easily. For example, I once worked at a company as an intern. I was first required to do mathematical analysis and theoretical reasoning which was beyond my abilities. When the manager found out my weakness and asked me to solve the problems through writing programs at the same time, I happened to find out that I was extremely dexterous at such jobs, which earned praise from my manager. This shows exactly the benefit of carrying out multiple types of tasks at the same time.

Considering the benefits, it is definitely reasonable to assign various types of work to employees. Only in this way can workers keep motivated and interested in their jobs and discover the fields they are really good at.