High school students now cheat more than before in homework assignments by asking other students for answers Which of the following do you think is the most effective way to stop this phenomenon 1 Asking parents to monitor signing homework to prove no che

Academic integrity has always been part of the moral principles for students. Severe punishments and constant supervision have been adopted to rule out plagiarism and cheating in exams. However, such regulations may not necessarily work as expected. In my opinion, if the school is to eliminate cheating behavior, asking teachers to assign homework that makes it difficult to cheat is probably the optimum choice.

To begin with, such assignments can effectively wipe out plagiarism. If students can no longer simply copy others’ solutions and get away with it easily, they will stop cheating for sure, since it may even take more effort to avoid being caught. For example, problems involving reasoning or subjective opinions can do the trick. Students are required to look for answers themselves and illustrate the points in their own words. As is known to all, there aren’t two individuals who view the world in exactly the same way, and therefore teachers can easily judge whether a student has copied another work, which in turn suppresses cheating on assignments or exam papers.

More importantly, students should be conveyed the significance of academic integrity. Such elaborately designed problems remind students of the fact that there will always be problems that need to be tackled only by themselves. This is exactly the case when they enter society, where they have no correct answers or solutions to copy from. If students are used to cheating on their assignments, they may continue to do so at work. Only then will they realize their incompetence and regret cheating back at school. As a result, it is of great importance to inform students of the idea that cheating cannot work under all circumstances and that dishonesty may lead to disastrous outcomes.

On the other hand, if the school simply focuses on raising punishments or keeps students under strict surveillance, students may misinterpret the message, holding the idea that it is their poor cheating skills that lead to the punishment. Those rebellious students may even work together to sharpen their cheating skills. That is to say, such regulations may in actuality give rise to more cheating, which is definitely far from desirable.

In conclusion, assigning homework that will make it more difficult for students to cheat is always the right choice, since it can effectively wipe out plagiarism and tell students the importance of behaving honestly. Simply increasing levels of penalty or monitoring will only treat the symptoms instead of the root causes.