High school students now cheat more than before in homework assignments, by asking other students for answers. Which of the following do you think is the most effective way to stop this phenomenon?

1. Asking parents to monitor (signing homework to prove no cheating involved)

2. Increasing penalty or punishment to the students who cheat.

3. Asking teacher to create homework assignment in which students can hardly cheat.

In education, more and more attention is paid to grades and rankings, which leads to many students' copying others' answers in exams. Plagiarizing answers is not only cheating teachers, parents, but also cheating students themselves. Cheating is as much of a problem as is has always been. So what exactly can we do to prevent this phenomenon? In my opinion, it is better to create an assignment that cannot be easily cheated than try to come up with a way to stop or punish those who do cheat.

First of all, create an assignment that cannot be easily cheated is conducive to mastering learning knowledge. It is very difficult to master and learn to use knowledge, and it is also the most useful for students. Facing the question, they can’t plagiarize, they will discuss with friends or researching information online by themselves. So, they can own these knowledges completely. For example, my uncle is a math teacher, and in the past, there is always the phenomenon of copying answers in his examination. Then he arrangement the homework which students hardly cheat. He found that many students had improved a lot therefore no one cheating in exam. So, I think this method is really the best one we can choose.

Also, we need to realize that there are countless ways of cheating, some of which are not easily detectable. Therefore, it would be impossible to ask parents for help. Even though may leads to contradictions and estrangement between students and their parents. And penalties or punishments could be either too severe or too gentle for students to bear in mind. So it can also prove that the best way to prevent cheating is to design a task that simply cannot be cheated.

More importantly, students will be more interested in learning by facing the assignment that cannot be easily cheated. More difficult questions cannot only stimulate students' interest in exploring the correct answers, but also stimulate their enthusiasm to overcome difficulties. The process of hands-on exploration is the process of obtaining. In addition, this way is less time-consuming and more effective than the other two options. Parents cooperation and penalties both take up a lot of energy and time both from the school’s side and the parents side. Whereas designing an assignment only requires some efforts from the teachers side and could be easily achieved.

Sum up, we want to stop the phenomenon that high school students now cheat more than before in homework assignments, by asking other students for answers, the only best way is to create homework assignment in which students can hardly cheat.