Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays

Throughout history, teachers have long been considered the most educated members of society. They have been considered erudite, knowledgeable, and sometimes omnipotent. However, it no longer seems to be the case, with most present-day teachers being paid lower salaries than other jobs such as managers and engineers. Quite a few teachers are complaining about their jobs, claiming to earn much less than they deserve. In my opinion, it is fair to say that teachers are not appreciated as much as they were before.

To begin with, students no longer consider teachers their only source of knowledge. With numerous online courses and electronic textbooks available nowadays, highly-recommended lectures given by noted professors are more welcomed by students than courses at their colleges. Consequently, most teachers earn far less credit and reverence than they did years ago, which indicates a decrease in their social status. According to a survey conducted at my college, nearly half of the students prefer online courses to conventional lectures, mostly contending that some well-known online lessons are more intelligible, even if they are delivered in a foreign language. Therefore, many teachers are losing their charm.

In addition, contemporary students are much more competent than the ones decades ago, so they rely far less on their teachers or instructors. This explains the phenomenon that many students consider the classes boring and simple, thus paying less attention to the teacher in class. In my own experience, some teachers gave lessons in an obscure language, even if the actual content was far less complex than the delivery, as most students thought. As a result, an increasing number of students would rather learn by themselves than attend classes, since they tend to be clever enough to interpret the information without the aid of the teacher.

More importantly, when it comes to accomplishments, society tends to give more credit to individuals. Teachers' assistance was considered an integral part of individuals' achievements in the past, but they are no longer so highly valued nowadays. It is the individual's efforts and his or her talent that is spoken highly of. On that account, teachers earn far fewer compliments than they did from society, which also confirms the decrease in their social status.

In conclusion, teachers in the past were indeed more appreciated and valued than they are now, in that the availability of high-quality educational resources, students' growing intelligence, and society's focus on personal achievements all contribute to the phenomenon.