Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The environmental issue is too complex to be handled by the individual.

Nowadays, environmental problems in every country are a critical and serious matter of concern as if they are not solved, the future generation will suffer from the consequences of them. A controversial argument that is often raised regarding this topic is whether the individual is enough to overcome the difficulties concerns the environment or not. If I were obliged to answer, I would think that these issues are so elaborate that no person alone can handle the situation for several reasons, on a few of which I will elaborate on consequently.

The first imperative reason is that many environmental issues are required universal cooperation, like global warming, deforestation and so forth. Never can an individual prevent these problems' progression as they need every human beings' effort to solve these disasters. One can try his best to inhibit some problems to happen like riding or walking to his work instead of using a private car to help to reduce the greenhouse effect that the gasses emitted from the cars have, but conspicuously it is not enough. My country is a compelling example to clarify this issue. I live in Tehran, one of the most polluted cities in Iran. The air pollution level is always placed in a perilous place. I use public transportation to avoid adding to the gasses that are the cause of air pollution, however, it is crystal clear that it will not have any effect if the government does not regulate or establish any rule to not let others pollute it. Hence, Tehran is at a dangerous point although I avoid any activity to further pollute it.

The second reason corroborating my view is that one's knowledge might be limited as environmental problems are too complex that need professional ways to handle them. Also, this complexity can confuse that person so he makes a disastrous decision since his information about that concept is not broad enough. My personal experience can shed light on this issue. There is no doubt that humans will die out if the drinkable water level continues to descend. I am a professor at the Amirkabir University of Technology and my field of interest is providing drinkable water out of ocean water. Two years ago, I heard about a project which used an especial kind of algae to eliminate undesirable particles from the water. At first glance, it seemed like a brilliant idea, but I knew that these algae secrete a toxic material that is harmful to humans to consume. The head of that project did not think of the unwanted products that these algae could produce. had I not figured out about the method that project used, they might have killed many people.

To sum it up, I strongly believe that environmental problems are not something that the individual overcome. This is because not only do they need a considerable number of people to work together, but also a professional observation to prevent further mistakes.