Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support

Sport is undeniably a crucial part of human life. In today's chaotic life, there is a necessity to be more active. A controversial argument that is often raised regarding this topic is whether to sports and social activities are as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support or not. If I were obliged to choose, I would support the idea that sports or other social activity should be given equal financial support for several reasons, on a few of which I will elaborate subsequently.

The first reason corroborating my view is that life is not all about studying or gaining theoretical knowledge. Besides, the human is not a machine which does not need any other activity. Humans need more than gaining new information from books or classes. They need to stretch their bodies and since they are social, there should be some responses for that. Also, sport helps to broaden our mind as we feel fresh after it. Thus, it can help to even understand better. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I was seventeen years old, I was preparing for an entrance exam to university. I thought that I was wasting my time by going to the gym. As a result, I abandoned it so I could have more time to study. After two months I felt really exhausted and I did not have the concentration that I used to have. I consulted with my brother and he offered me to start the gym. I packed my bag and went to the gym and started to exercise. After a couple of weeks, I regained all the energy and concentration I have lost. That is why I think supporting the sport is as equally important as classes.

The second imperative reason is that it is established beyond doubt that social activities and sports help us reduce the level of stress. Furthermore, when we become more social it gives us the confidence to get to know new people and make new friends. My personal experience can shed light on this issue. When I started high school our family moved to a new town because of my father's job. I did not know anybody in the new town or at school. I was nervous that I know no one there. Also, I was a shy girl and it was really stressful for me to be alone all the time at school. My mother advised me to go to the swimming class so I can meet new persons there and get to know them. Fortunately, I met a wonderful girl there who was going to the same high school as me. I learned how to be more social and became friend with her and that was the reason I got relieved from the stress I was suffering from. The swimming class taught me how I can make new friends. That is why It is important to learn to be social as all the problems we face during our life cannot be solved with books.

To make the long story short, it is definitely important to learn how to be social and do some exercise not only to reduce the stress we may suffer from but also to widen our mind.