Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people.

Truth is undeniably a crucial part which affects human life. A controversial argument that is often raised regarding this topic is whether to always tell the truth in a relationship or not. If I were obliged to choose, I would absolutely agree with telling the truth in every relationship for several reasons, on a few of which I elaborate subsequently.

The first imperative reason is that all lies we may say or anything we conceal will finally become manifest. The result of this phenomenon cannot be good for our reputation or friendship. My personal experience can shed light on this issue. I had a friend named Marry when I was at university. We both were talented students and tried our best to achieve full marks in every exam. In the last year of our university, I fill out a form for merit base students who can study master without any exam for entrance. I asked about her rank and her GPA and she said that she will not register and she is ashamed of her grade due to the low marks from the first year. I had a very good relationship with one of the professors who was the head of the talented student department. One day he saw me in the hallway and congratulated me for being accepted as a merit base student. I thanked him and asked him if there was any other person who accepted. His answer was really shocking for me when he mentioned Marry as one of them. I was happy for her but I could not understand why she told such a foolish lie to me. This was the reason I abandon her and other friends of hers were upset for her lies and did not continue their friendship.

The second reason corroborating my view is that truth is what makes reliability so we can count on each other which is what all people look for in a healthy relationship. My own experience is a compelling example of this. A few months ago, I got out of a relationship with my boyfriend. I understood that he lies to me about his relations with another girl. We had a habit to call each other whenever we could. Every time I called him and he was out he said that he is out with one of the boys in the class. One day, I saw him walking with a girl but he did not notice me. I called him on the phone to see if he is going to lie to me or not. Unfortunately, he lied and I understand that he is not the one I can count on. It broke my heart, but I could not stand living with a man who lies to me.

To make the long story short, it is established beyond doubt that telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship because not only will the lie be revealed but also no one can count on the person who lies.